BANDS

ABORTED

Death-Metal - Belgium
Imagine that Misery Index, Benighted, Dying Fetus, Exumed and Skinless, all armed with instruments, are locked in a studio, the musicians are mixed-up well, divided into shifts and, under the threat of brute violence, forced to form a new band by consensus. You could describe Aborted like this or something similar. In the international Death Metal scene they are famous not only for their intensified Death Metal but also for their active live behaviour. The band not only loves to play rough but also loves to play a lot of shows and to heave themselves on packages with suitable musical support. Now it looks as if the men have decided to play significantly less in 2020 in order to work diligently in the studio on the successor of the last output "Terrorvision". Well, we have spared no expense and effort to convince the band to let the studio rest for a while to blow your ear canals off at # WOD2020 with a special 25 years set!

AGRYPNIE

Post-Black-Metal - Germany
We welcome 2020 and wish you all the best for this new year! Just throwing a few New Year's wishes in your direction is not our approach - so we'll put a band on top of it. Accordingly, our first new entry this year is called AGRYPNIE! Kinda complicated and melodic, yet profound and always to be found in the darkest corner, the band around Mastermind Torsten is one of the pioneers in German Post Black Metal.

BAEST

Death-Metal - Denmark
We stay at the doorsteps of our Danish neighbors and bring more fresh blood to sweet Lichtenfels! However, it can't get much fresher than with BAEST, because the band has not even 5 years under its belt! What the youngsters flared up during this time in terms of live activities, is more than many experienced troops can keep up with during their entire career! Various festivals of all sizes as well as tours with Decapitated, Entombed AD and Aborted have strengthened the band's reputation as an absolute live power as well as their own interpretation of the new rough Death Metal somewhere between Dismember, Bloodbath and Entrails - that will be really rough .. UGH!

BODYFARM

Death-Metal - Niederlande
You want Death Metal? You'll get Death Metal - that of the very best Dutch origin! No we are not talking about Asphyx or Soulburn (already had those guys ...), but rather about fresh blood from this scene. Few bands have such a fast-moving career like the Death Squad Bodyfarm. The four-piece is characterized by constant behavioral patterns in connection with the scene, solid outputs and crushing song structures as well as the sympathy bonus that is attached to these guys. You don't know the band ?! Hurry up - turn to up the volume and start listening!

CUT UP

Death-Metal - Sweden
Do you want pounding, blasting and omnipresent destruction? Here you go! When Vomitory went into hibernation in 2013, some of the band members could not keep their feet still for a minute to take a break. CUT UP was born! Their 2015 debut "Forensic Nightmares" showed a very clear direction: brutal, dark Death Metal between Cannibal Corpse, Vader and of course Vomitory. Anyone who expects classic melodic Scandinavian Death Metal school here should be prepared for a disappointment, because the four-piece team beats down everything and holds sing-along refrains and too filigree guitar work not in the highest manner - hack, slash and splatter!

DESTRUCTION

Thrash-Metal - Germany
Some of you will have wondered whether we are really that cold-blooded and leave Tankard alone on the flyer, although Sodom was allowed to play our festival two years ago - the answer is of course NO! After all, we are no inhuman beings - that's why we decided to provide the guys with a few suitable playmates from old times. DESTRUCTION! As an essential part of Big Teutonic 4, the band has been active since the early 80s and has always been extremely busy. In the last 5 years alone the band has had 3 albums and 2 splits - not a little considering that we don't have lively youngsters here but seasoned Thrashers in their prime. As a special surprise, the band will perform an oldschool setlist - 35 years INFERNAL OVERKILL!!!

DISBELIEF

Death-Metal - Germany

The Grand Masters of German Sludge Death Metal return to release a new album by 2020! Wait a minute - they return? That's not quite true, because Disbelief have never really been away! Active since 1990, the band aroundm scene idol Jagger, released  their latest album "The Symbol of Death" in 2017. Well, how should one describe the music of the 5-piece? The band does not play standard Death Metal, but they can not really put themselves between other Sludge bands - some would say that they actually go their very own way. Stomping, angry, rolling and usually rattling in mid-tempo, the songs crunch down into the listener's ears. Absolute recommendation for friends of the indigestible diet!

ENDSEEKER

Death-Metal - Sweden
Wie würde es klingen, wenn die alten ENTOMBED und die aktuellen CANNIBAL CORPSE ein Kind hätten? Was würde passieren, wenn man die Riffs und die sägenden Gitarren des Stockholmer Death Metals mit der Stimme des Corpsegrinders zusammenbringen würde. Was sich theoretisch nach einer Superband anhört, die viel Bier beim Barbecue haben würde, haben ENDSEEKER praktisch umgesetzt.

FATEFUL FINALITY

Thrash-Metal - Germany
As you know, we are ready to rumble when it comes to giving rising bands a chance to presenting their live skills on a larger stage. Accordingly, we fished in the swamp of German underground Thrash Metal and brought FATEFUL FINALITY to light ! The group from Stuttgart first appeared in 2006 with a demo and a few years later won the title of the Wacken Metal Battle Winner 2012. In addition to traditional influences like Exodus, these men are also in when it comes to a modern touch of their very own music.

GUTALAX

Grindcore - Czech Republic
Shit happens! We are sorry but under this motto we couldn't avoid booking GUTALAX - SORRY AGAIN! Accordingly, we naturally hope that you hang the toilet brush around your waist like a broadsword and ammunition your holster with the finest toilet paper (at least 3 layers please!). The gang from our neighboring country in the east does not make live prisoners when it comes to conjuring up a greasy and beautiful live performance out of the love for faeces and the stool in particular and general. Dilute your beer with enough laxatives and off you go!

HELLBURST

Black-Thrash - Germany
The South German Metal Newbie Award goes to .. HELLBURST! Something like that we would announce if we had to award that price. Since we have no trophies waiting for a new owner in the cupboard of our office, we prefer to give the young group a slot at our beautiful festival! The group from Bamberg is cutting through the underground in an old Black-Thrash manner and impressively shows the youthful roughness that older creations of sizes such as DESASTER have thrown out into the world for the first time: edgy, fierce and shooting all over the place - let yourself be surprised!

LIK

Death-Metal Sweden
We stay in Sweden and go on a short trip directly from the CUT UP base in Karlstadt to Stockholm and find 4 guys there who have made it their business not only to pay homage to the sound but also the songwriting to one of the forefathers of an entire genre. We're talking about LIK, of course, who are absolutely committed to the music of Dismember and don't make it a secret. Fat riffs, fat vocals, fat HM2 sound and one of the Death Metal surprises of recent years. The band was able to make a name for itself with "Mass Funeral Evocation" and underpinned their reputation with the successor "Carnage" and some live shows.

MASSACRE

Death-Metal - USA

You're into really oldschool Death Metal but you always wanted to know which band made this ominous album called "From Beyond"? No problem - we clarify and serve you full blast! Speaking of "From Beyond", Massacre from Tampa, Florida have delivered one of the reference works of the US Death Metal and have always been a guarantee for aggressive live shows. In 2014 the band put out an album, called "Back from Beyond" and could prove beyond doubt that they are far away from being old timers!

SLAEGT

Black-Metal - Danemark
We already have a few hopefuls of the scene at our festival. However, since they mainly stick to the a rough edge, we want to offer something exquisite to you fine spirits! SLAEGT from Denmark have been one of THE discoveries of the last few years and have already made a tremendous change in style in their still young history: Started as a Black Metal band in 2011, the sound of the foursome changed with the EP "Beautiful and Damned" to a grandiose mix from precisely those Black Metal roots and a good pinch of Heavy Metal - absolute listening recommendation!

STILLBIRTH

Death-Metal - Germany
It's time for the infamous 6S for swim short lovers: after all, who doesn't feel like summer, sun, sand, surfing, slams & Stillbirth? Brutal Surf Death Metal at its finest is offered as soon as the 6 men enter the stage and make it shake. In addition to the unusual designation of their own musical output and the even more unusual appearance of the formation, however, these guys offer a delicacy that will move the hearts of every fan from Dying Fetus & Devourment to Cryptopsy. No chance for fillers - all the band has to offer is killer!

TANKARD

Thrash-Metal - Germany

Who likes to drink beer and comes to Way of Darkness 2020? You?! Fantastic! Who else? Tankard for example! The thrashing German boozers are ready for to range since 1983! As part of the Big Teutonic 4, the band is one of the cornerstones of Thrash Metal from Germany and never gets tired of the tribute of sparkling "barley juice". In this sense: Die with a beer in your hand!

UNDERGANG

Death-Metal - Denmark
Do you have the feeling that WOD2020 is still not rumbling enough? Don't worry - we will help you straight away and have a real Danish delicacy in store for you! Undergang from Copenhagen play rancid old school Death Metal and when we say rancid, we mean really rancid. If a festival was a living organism, we would invite something like a nasty middle ear infection, by letting the four-piece play. The sound pushes everything out of the boxes and the guys just go for it - sometimes crashing, sometimes clattering but always uncompromisingly ugly - it will be a joy!

VULTURE

Speed-Metal - Germany
You are looking for German Speed Metal? Dinner's served! Vulture from North-Rhine Westphalia are not only fast but also chartbreaking. The second album "Ghastly Waves and Battered Graves" entered the German Charts at position 65 and shows the bands hammering skills towards smashing hits.Somewhere between Ranger and Exciter, these guys know how to deliver Speed Metal the right way. So put on your leather jacket and the rivets belt and go for it!

BANDS

ABORTED

Death-Metal - Belgium
Man stelle sich vor das man Misery Index, Benighted, Dying Fetus, Exumed und Skinless allsamt mit Instrumenten bewaffnet in ein Studio einsperrt, die Musiker gut durchmischt, in Schichten einteilt und unter Androhung von roher Gewalt dazu zwingt im Konsens eine neue Band zu entwerfen. So oder so ähnlich könnte man Aborted beschreiben, die in der internationalen Death Metal Szenerie nicht nur für ihren verschärften Death Metal sondern auch für ihre Umtriebigkeit verschrien sind. Die Band liebt es nicht nur derbes Material zu spielen sondern sie liebt es ebenso derbe viele Shows zu spielen und sich immer wieder auf Packages mit passender musikalischer Unterstützung zu hieven. Allerdings sieht es ganz so aus als ob sich die Herren für 2020 vorgenommen haben deutlich weniger zu spielen um dafür im Studio fleißig am Nachfolger des letzten Outputs "Terrorvision" zu arbeiten. Nun, wir haben keine Kosten und Mühen geschreckt um die Band davon zu überzeugen das Studio kurz ruhen zu lassen um euch beim #WOD2020 gehörig die Gehörgänge freizublasen - und zwar mit einem Special-Set zum 25 jährigen Jubiläum der Band!

AGRYPNIE

Post-Black-Metal - Germany
Wir heißen 2020 willkommen und wünschen euch alles Gute für dieses neue Jahr! Euch einfach ein paar lapidare Neujahrswünsche entgegenzuschleudern entspricht allerdings nicht unserem Habitat - deswegen packen wir gleich noch eine Band mit drauf. Dementsprechend heißt unser erster Neuzugang in diesem Jahr Agrypnie! Vertrackt und melodisch, allzeit tiefgründig und ständig in der düstersten Ecke anzutreffen gilt die Band um Mastermind Torsten als einer der Pioniere in Sachen deutscher Post Black Metal.

BAEST

Death-Metal - Denmark
Wir bleiben unseren dänischen Nachbarn verbunden und holen mehr frisches Blut ins beschauliche Lichtenfels! Viel frischer als mit BAEST kann es allerdings nicht werden, denn die Band hat noch keine 5 Jahre auf dem Buckel! Was die Jungspunde in dieser Zeit allerdings an Liveaktivitäten abgefackelt haben, bekommt so manch gestandene Truppe in ihrer gesamten Karriere nicht aufs Kerbholz! Diverse Festivals in allen Größenordnungen sowie Touren mit Decapitated, Entombed AD und Aborted haben den Ruf der Band als absolute Livemacht ebenso gefestigt wie ihre ureigene Interpretation des neuen derben Death Metals irgendwo zwischen Dismember, Bloodbath und Entrails - das könnte richtig derbe werden.. UGH!

BODYFARM

Death-Metal - Netherlands
Ihr wollt Death Metal? Ihr bekommt Death Metal - und zwar den der allerbesten niederländischen Schule! Nein wir reden hier nicht von Asphyx oder Soulburn (hatten wir doch alles schon...), sondern vielmehr von frischem Blut besagter Szene. Wenige Bands können solch eine steile Karriere vorweisen wie die Todesschwadron Bodyfarm. Stete Verhaltensmuster in Sachen Szeneverbundenheit, solide Outputs und niederwalzender Songstrukturen zeichnen die vierköpfige Band genauso aus wie der Sympathiebonus der den Mannen anhaftet. Du kennst die Band nicht?! Na dann aber flott - Boxen aufdrehen auf und reinhören!

CUT UP

Death-Metal - Sweden
Ihr wollt Gescherbel, Geballer und allgegenwärtige Zerstörung? Sollt ihr haben! Als sich Vomitory 2013 in den langanhaltenden Winterschlaf begaben, konnten einige der Bandmitglieder die Füße für nicht eine Minute stillhalten und sich eine Auszeit gönnen. Die Geburtsstunde von CUT UP! Deren 2015 Erstling "Forensic Nightmares" zeigte eine ganz klare Marschrichtung: brachial-finsterer Death Metal zwischen Cannibal Corpse, Vader und natürlich Vomitory. Jeder der hier klassisch melodischen skandinavischen Todesstahl erwartet sollte sich auf eine Enttäuschung gefasst machen, denn das Viergespann prügelt derbe alles nieder und hält von Mitsingrefrains ungefähr soviel wie von filigraner Gitarrenarbeit - kleckern, klotzen und zerstückeln!

DESTRUCTION

Thrash-Metal - Germany
Der ein oder andere wird sich schon gefragt haben ob wir wirklich so kaltblütig sind und Tankard allein auf dem Flyer stehen lassen, obwohl Sodom vor 2 Jahren schon ran durften - die Antwort ist natürlich NEIN! Schließlich sind wir keine Unmenschen - deswegen haben wir uns dazu entschlossen den Kerlen ein paar passende Spielgefährten aus alten Zeiten zur Seite zu stellen.. Destruction! Als essentieller Part der Big Teutonic 4 ist die Band seit den frühen 80ern aktiv und seit jeher auch extrem umtriebig. Allein in den letzten 5 Jahren kommt die Band auf 3 Alben und 2 Splits - nicht gerade wenig wenn man bedenkt das wir hier keine quirligen Youngsters sondern gestandene Thrasher im besten Alter vor uns haben. Als Special für euch gibt die Band eine Oldschool-Setlist zum Besten: 35 Years INFERNAL OVERKILL!!!

DISBELIEF

Death-Metal - Germany

Die Großmeister des deutschen Sludge-Death Metals kehren zurück um 2020 ein neues Album zu veröffentlichen! Moment mal - sie kehren zurück?! Das ist so nicht ganz richtig, denn wirklich weg waren Disbelief noch nie! Seit 1990 aktiv hat die Band um Szeneurgestein Jagger zuletzt 2017 mit "The Symbol of Death" von sich hören lassen. Nun, wie soll man die Musik des Fünfers beschreiben? Die Band spielt keinen Standard Death Metal aber so richtig lässt sie sich auch nicht zwischen anderen Sludge Bands verorten - manch einer würde behaupten das sie tatsächlich eine völlig eigene Schiene fährt. Stampfend, wütend, walzend und meist im Midtempo scheppernd krachen die Songs tonnenschwer auf den Zuhörer darnieder. Absolute Hörempfehlung für Freunde der schwer verdaulichen Kost!

ENDSEEKER

Death-Metal - Sweden
Wie würde es klingen, wenn die alten ENTOMBED und die aktuellen CANNIBAL CORPSE ein Kind hätten? Was würde passieren, wenn man die Riffs und die sägenden Gitarren des Stockholmer Death Metals mit der Stimme des Corpsegrinders zusammenbringen würde. Was sich theoretisch nach einer Superband anhört, die viel Bier beim Barbecue haben würde, haben ENDSEEKER praktisch umgesetzt.

FATEFUL FINALITY

Thrash-Metal - Germany
Wie ihr wisst sind wir für so einige Schandtaten bereit wenn es darum geht der ein oder anderen aufsteigenden Band eine Chance zur Präsentation der Livedarbietungskünste auf einer größeren Bühne zu gewähren. Dementsprechend haben wir im Sumpf der deutschen Underground-Thrashs gefischt und dabei Fateful Finality zutage gefördert! Die Truppe aus Stuttgart trat erstmals 2006 mit einem Demo zutage und konnte wenige Jahre später den Titel des Wacken Metal Battle Winners 2012 für sich verbuchen. Neben althergebrachten Einflüssen alá Exodus ist den Mannen auch der ein oder andere moderne Touch der recht eigenständigen Musik nicht abzuerkennen.

GUTALAX

Grindcore - Czech Republic
Shit happens! Es tgut uns leid aber unter genau diesem Motto kamen wir nicht umhin GUTALAX zu buchen - SORRY! Dementsprechend hoffen wir natürlich dass ihr euch die Klobürste wie ein Breitschwert um die Hüfte hängt und euer Holster mit feinstem Toilettenpapier aufmunitioniert (mindestens 3-lagig bitte!). Die Bande aus unserem östlichen Nachbarland macht live keine Gefangenen wenn es darum geht aus der Liebe zu Fäkalien und dem Stuhlgang im Speziellen sowie Allgemeinen eine schmierig-schöne Livedarbietung zu zaubern. Verdünnt euer Bier mit genügend Abführmittel und los gehts!

HELLBURST

Black-Thrash - Germany
Der Preis für Süddeutsche Metalnachwuchsförderung geht an.. HELLBURST! So oder so ähnlich würden wir die Band ankündigen wenn wir jenen Preis zu vergeben hätten. Da wir im Schrank unseres Büros aber leider keine Trophäen stehen haben die auf einen neuen Besitzer warten, geben wir der jungen Truppe lieber einen Slot auf unserem schönen Festival! Die Truppe aus Bamberg holzt in alter Black-Thrash Manier durchs Unterholz und zeigt eindrucksvoll jene jugendliche Räudigkeit die ältere Machwerke von Größen wie Desaster erstmals in die Welt hinauskotzten: holpernd, finster um sich ballernd - lasst euch überraschen!

LIK

Death-Metal Sweden
Wir bleiben in Schweden und begeben uns auf einen kurzen Trip direkt von der CUT UP Basis in Karlstadt nach Stockholm und finden dort 4 Typen die es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht haben nicht nur den Sound sondern auch dem Songwriting einer der Urväter eines ganzen Genres zu huldigen. Die Rede ist natürlich von LIK, die sich absolut der Mucke der von Dismember verschrieben haben und daraus auch kein Geheimnis machen. Fette Riffs, fette Vocals, fetter HM2-Sound und eine der Death Metal Überraschungen der letzten Jahre. Die Band konnte mit "Mass Funeral Evocation" gut von sich reden machen und ihren Ruf durch den Nachfolger "Carnage" und einige Liveshows gut untermauern.

MASSACRE

Death-Metal - USA

Ihr habt Bock auf so richtig alten Death Metal aber wolltet schon immer wissen welche Band eigentlich hinter diesem ominösen Album namens "From Beyond" steckt? Kein Stress - wir klären euch auf und liefern euch ganz nebenbei die absolute Vollbedienung! Massacre aus Tampa Florida haben mit besagtem Album eins der Referenzwerke des US-amerikanischen Death Metals abgeliefert und sind seit jeher Garant für aggressive Liveshows. 2014 legten die Brutalos das passenderweise als "Back from Beyond" titulierte Album nach und konnte so zweifelsfrei beweisen dass sie noch lange nicht zum alten Eisen gehören.

SLAEGT

Black-Metal - Danemark
Ein paar Hoffnungsträger in Sachen Metalnachwuchs haben wir ja schon auf unserem Festival. Da es sich dabei allerdings hauptsächlich um derbe Krawallgesellen handelt wollen wir dein Feingeistern unter euch Zapfhähnen (und Zapfhühnern natürlich) auch etwas Erlesenes bieten! SLAEGT aus Dänemark sind eine DER Entdeckungen der letzten Jahre und haben in ihrer noch jungen Geschichte schon einen gewaltigen Stilwandel hinter sich gebracht: 2011 als Black Metal Band gestartet, wandelte sich der Sound des Vierers mit der EP "Beautiful and Damned" zu einer grandisosen Mischung aus eben jenen Black Metal Wurzeln und einer gehörigen Prise Heavy Metal - absolute Hörempfehlung!

STILLBIRTH

Death-Metal - Germany
Es wird Zeit für die berüchtigten 6S der Badeshortsfraktion: Wer hat schließlich keine Lust auf Sommer, Sonne, Strand, Surfen, Slams & Stillbirth? Brutal Surf Death Metal vom allerfeinsten wird geboten sobald die 6 Herren die Bühne betreten und zum beben bringen. Neben der ungewöhnlichen Bezeichnung des eigenen musikalischen Outputs und der noch ungewöhnlicheren Erscheinung der Formation bietet jene allerdings derbste musikalische Kost die die Herzen eines jeden Fans von allem was sich zwischen Dying Fetus, Devourment und Cryptopsy bewegt höher schlagen lassen sollte. Hier wird in keinem Belang auch nur ansatzweise gekleckert sondern von Anfang bis Ende durchgeklotzt was die Anlage hergibt.

TANKARD

Thrash-Metal - Germany

Wer trinkt gern Bier und kommt zum Way of Darkness 2020? Du?! Fantastisch! Und wer noch? Tankard zum Beispiel! Die deutschen Dauerbrenner in Sachen thrashender Bierverwurstung sind zu jeder Schandtat bereit und das schon seit 1983! Als Teil der Big Teutonic 4 stellt die Band einen der Eckpfeiler in Sachen Thrash Metal aus deutschen Landen dar und wird der Huldigung des prickelnden Gerstensafts nie müde. In diesem Sinne: Die with a beer in your hand!

UNDERGANG

Death-Metal - Denmark
Habt ihr das Gefühl das beim WOD2020 noch nicht genügend gerumpelt wird? Keine Sorge - wir haben leisten euch direkt Abhilfe und haben eine echte Dänische Delikatesse für euch in petto! Undergang aus Kopenhagen spielen räudigen Death Metal der alten Schule und wenn wir räudig sagen dann meinen wir so richtig räudig. Wäre ein Festival ein lebender Organismus dann würden wir uns mit dem Vierer eine fiese Mittelohrentzündung auf Ansage ins Haus holen. Der Sound drückt alles aus den Boxen was geht und die Typen holzen einfach drauf los - mal krachend, mal scheppernd aber immer kompromisslos hässlich - das wird ein Freudenfest!

VULTURE

Speed-Metal - Germany
Ihr wollte Speed Metal deutschen Ursprungs? Den sollt ihr bekommen! Vulture - High Speed Metal aus NRW sind nicht nur schnell sondern auch hitlastig. Das haben die Kerle mit ihrem zweiten Album "Ghastly Waves And Battered Graves" eindrucksvoll unter Beweis gestellt und mit einem 65. Platz der gesamtdeutschen Albumcharts auch zu untermauern gewusst. Irgendwo zwischen Ranger und Exciter brettert die Band nur so drauf los, dass es eine wahre Freude ist. Also: Kleiderschrank auf - Lederjacke und Nietengürtel raus und ab dafür!